Your Privacy Matters: We use our own and third-party cookies to improve your experience on our website. By continuing to use the website we understand that you accept their use. Cookie Policy
Basic beginner doubt
posted

Hello everyone,

As a beginner i m alil confused like  ui.igGridCellMerging is this like features which should be used inside features? and Iggrid is a class and this  is their methods? and how is the above diffferent from ig.GridExcelExported like differecne between the ones starting with ui and ig.And which method can be included inside and which outside of it , when they can be included in features and when inside updating.

Parents
    Offline posted

Hello Rohit,

Thank you for posting in our community!

I have been looking into your question and what I could say is that the igGrid as well as several other controls like the igTreeGrid, igHierarchicalGrid, igCombo, igEditors, etc. are standalone controls which means that they can be initialized independently.

For example, an igGrid can be initialized as simple as the following:

$("#grid").igGrid({
        dataSource: data,
    });

Here could be found a full list of all the Ignite UI for jQuery controls.

The ig.GridExcelExporter (as its name states) is a feature of the grid, it is used to export the igGrid, igTreeGrid and igHierarchicalGrid controls to Excel. This means that it is dependent on a grid and in order to use it, you should have an initialized grid first as this is the sole purpose of the control – to export an instance of a grid to Excel.

More useful information could be found in our Grid Excel Exporter Overview topic here.

Regarding the ui.igGridCellMerging and the other grid features which could be found here, what I could say is that they cannot be used independently without being initialized first.

For example, consider the following configuration:

<button id="filterButton">Filter</button>
    <table id="grid"></table>

$("#filterButton").on("click", function () {